Guards Polo Club News Back
Oxford Retain Varsity Trophy 6th June 2017

Victories for Oxford, Harrow and Cambridge Old Blues on La Martina Varsity Day

Oxford retained the La Martina Varsity Trophy after beating their old adversaries Cambridge 5-1 on the Princes' Ground. However the game was closer than the score shows and we were treated to a fairly flowing game of polo. Charlie Hitchman, the highest handicapped player on the field in this match, did a great job for Oxford, picking up loose balls and running to goal. Nor surprisingly, he was later named the La Martina Most Valuable Player in the post-match presentations.

Hitchman would often find himself in a horse-race against Cambridge's Toby Call, both standing out on the field of play in their red hats. Call's efforts were rewarded when his pony Gallea, whom he had played in the second chukka, was awarded the La Martina Best Playing Pony prize by La Martina's Becky Simpson.

Lots of Varsity students took advantage of the end of the exam season to watch the match and cheer on their respective teams. There was also plenty of support for the earlier Eton (rec 1.5 goals on handicap) v Harrow match. This was won by Harrow - 6-4.5 - but was a really close game and a great advert for schools polo. Harrow produced some excellent four-man polo and it was this consistency that paid off in the end.

The Varsity Day, which is being sponsored by La Martina for the second year, began with an Old Blues game, featuring former students, many of whom are familiar names on the polo fields at Guards Polo Club. Cambridge won this test, overwhelming their dark blue rivals 10-1.5. After all the polo, players and spectators either headed to the Clubhouse for the first Mosimann's Varsity lunch or made the most of the hot weather by enjoying a more casual Mosimann's BBQ with live music on the La Martina Lawn.

Oxford: Issa Dasu Patel (-2); Heather Winsor (-1); Charlie Hitchman (0); Sally Schwartz (-2). Cambridge: Francesca Spencer (-2); Sara Devereus (-2); Oliver Melvill (-1); Toby Call (-1).

Harrow: Michael Fitzgibbon (-2); Christian Oberschneider (-1); Valentine Hutley (0); Charles Cadogan (0). Eton: Dolapo Ibitoye (-2); Tom Jodrell (-1); Jake Ritblat (-2); Eric Appen (0).

Cambridge Old Blues: Sam Outtridge (-1); Max Kirchoff (-1); Sam Browne (0); Jeremy Allen (2). Oxford Old Blues: Jan Caliess (-2); Andrew Detchet (2); Cameron Walton Masters (0); Amy Nizolek (-1).

Read More Latest Club News Stories