Guards Polo Club News Back
Nineteen teams set to battle for Cartier glory 20th May 2024

An incredible 19 teams have entered the 2024 edition of the Cartier Queen’s Cup. This 22-goal tournament, attracting the world’s top players and their impressive ponies, will be played at Guards Polo Club in the heart of Windsor Great Park. Sponsored by Cartier since 2012, this world-class tournament delivers three weeks of outstanding sport, culminating in an incredible finals’ day on Sunday 16 June.

The teams will compete to win one of the sport’s most prestigious trophies, the Cartier Queen’s Cup. This silver trophy was personally presented to Guards Polo Club by HM Queen Elizabeth ll in 1960 to celebrate the Club’s fifth birthday. In the subsequent 64 years some of the sports biggest names have claimed victory. One of those was HM King Charles lll, winning when he was Prince of Wales with Les Diables Bleus in 1986.

This year’s team list includes a father and daughter combination for the first time – Adolfo and Mia Cambiaso, playing for the La Dolfina team. Adolfo, who holds the record for the most Queen’s Cup wins – 10 – has additional family interest in the game as his son, Adolfo Junior, is competing with the La Dolfina Great Oaks team. This squad also features Dillon Bacon, winner of the Cartier Queen’s Cup in 2020 and 2022. To add to the familial theme, Adolfo’s two nephews, Bartolome and Camilo Castagnola, are in the mix, playing for the Desert Palm and Dubai teams respectively.

Camilo is one of four 10-goal players, the highest handicap possible in polo, competing this season. The other 10-goalers listed are Polito Pieres, Cartier’s Most Valuable Player in 2023,  and a member of Hugues Carmignac’s Talandracas team this season; Hilario Ulloa, a member of Andrey Borodin’s Park Place squad and Facundo Pieres, a multiple winner of the Queen’s Cup and Polito’s cousin. This year Facundo is playing alongside his older brother Gonzalo for Guy Schwarzenbach’s Black Bears team.

With such depth of talent across all 19 teams, play will be fast and furious from the opening day. The tournament starts on Tuesday 21 May and concludes on Sunday 16 June.

·       Tickets and Clubhouse VIP hospitality are available to purchase online for both Members and Non-Members. For more information go to  

·       All matches are being livestreamed at Guards TV in association with Polocam at


Cartier Queen’s Cup Teams 2024

Group One

Black Bears: Guy Schwarzenbach (2); TBC (2); Gonzalo Pieres (8); Facundo Pieres (10).

Desert Palm: Bartolome Castagnola (9); Ali Albwardy (0); Beltran Laulhe (5); Matias Torres Zavaleta (8).

Gaston: Jean Paul Luksic (0); Oliver Cudmore (6); Jean Martin Nero (9); Cruz Heguy (7).

Green Gates: Noor Khadra (1); Cesar Crespo (6); Francisco Elizalde (8); Isidro Strada (7).

La Dolfina: Mia Cambiaso (2); Charlie Hanbury (4); Alfredo Bigatti (7); Adolfo Cambiaso (9).

Shoreline: Adebayo Karim (2); Hugo Taylor (4); Facundo Sola (8); Alfredo Capella (8).

Thai Polo/Get A Drip: Louis Hine (5); Ned Hine (5); Martin Podesta (7); Tommy Severn (5).

Group Two

Dubai: Camilo Castagnola (10); Rashi Albwardy (2); Rufino Laulhe (4); Antonio Heguy (5).

Ferne Park: Jonathan Rothermere (0); Cristian Laprida (7); Joaquin Pittaluga (7); David Stirling (8).

King Power: Aiyawatt Srivaddhanaprabha (1); William Harper (4); Nicolas Pieres (8); Pablo MacDonough (9).

La Dolfina Great Oaks: Dillon Bacon (2); Kian Hall (3); Diego Cavanagh (8); Adolfo Cambiaso Jnr (9).

Marques de Riscal: Alejandro Aznar (0); Guillermo Caset (9); Santiago Cernadas (7); Chris Mackenzie (6).

Park Place: Andrey Borodin (0); Juan Britos (8); Hilario Ulloa (10); Rufino Merlos (4).

Sujan Indian Tigers: Jaisal Singh (1); Matthew Perry (6); Rufino Bensadon (7); Juan Martin Zubia (8).  

League Three

Cibao La Pampa: Juan Pepa (1); Gonzalo Ferrari (7); Benjamin Panelo (7); Guillermo Terrera (7).

La Magdeleine: Alexandre Garese (0); Santiago Laborde (6); Facundo Fernandez Llorente (8); Jeronimo Del Carril (8).

Talandracas: Hugues Carmignac (0); Rosendo Torreguitar (5); Polito Pieres (10); Alejandro Muzzio (7).

UAE Polo Team: HH Sheikha Maitha bint Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum (0); Teodoro Lacau (7); Lucas Monteverde Jnr (7); Tommy Beresford (8).

White Crane: Alexie Calvert-Ansari (0); Lucas Criado (6); Tomas Panelo (9); James Harper (7).

Read More Latest Club News Stories