Super 16 prepare for Cartier Queen's Cup

Published on: 19th May 2013 14_05_13_210

Seven 10-goalers among the mix for this year's Cartier Queen's Cup competition which begins on 22 May

Sixteen high-goal teams will play in The Cartier Queen’s Cup competition in 2013. The world’s greatest players, including Adolfo Cambiaso, Gonzalo and Facundo Pieres, Juan Martin Nero, Pablo MacDonough, David Stirling and Guillermo Caset, will be in action at Guards Polo Club over the next three weeks, playing at the top of their game to ensure that it is their patron who steps forward to receive the historic silver Queen’s Cup from HM The Queen.

This world-class competition will once again be sponsored by Cartier, the ‘King of Jewellers’. Cartier has a long-standing tradition of supporting polo around the globe, including 27 wonderful years of sponsoring polo through the Cartier International Day at Guards Polo Club. It has also created impressive International Polo Days in conjunction with Guards Polo Club in both Dubai and China.

The President’s Draw for the Cartier Queen’s Cup was held at Cartier’s New Bond Street Maison on the 14 May with many patrons and professionals in attendance eager to discover their opposition in this year’s tournament. The current holders of The Cartier Queen’s Cup, the Dubai team, will be defending their title, an honour they have now won five times, and back-to-back US Open winners, Zacara, will also be back, offering some tough competition, especially as team patron Lyndon Lea has included Facundo Pieres to his line-up this year.

Competition may come from a new team to the high-goal circuit though, HH Sheikha Maitha’s UAE Polo Team. With an impressive string of ponies and 10-goaler Pablo MacDonough on her side, she is certain to impress. In addition, the well regarded Black Bears team returns to the high-goal this season, 20 years since their first Queen’s Cup victory. This time Guy Schwarzenbach is patron of the squad, having taken over the reins from his father Urs who triumphed in 1993.  

The first matches of the 2013 competition will be played on Wednesday 22 May (Zacara v Twelve Oaks (Zacara), Dubai v El Remanso (Dubai), Emlor v Enigma (Coworth Park)). After three weeks of fast paced games, the leading four teams will head to the semi-finals on Wednesday 12 June. The tournament concludes four days later with a memorable final, historically played in the presence of HM The Queen, on Sunday 16 June 2013 at Guards Polo Club.

To keep up to date with all the Cartier Queen’s Cup matches or to book tickets go to or call the Club's Ticket Office on 01784 437797.

 League  One:

Dubai Polo Team: Rashid Albwardy (2); Alec White (3); Nico Pieres (7); Adolfo Cambiaso (10).

El Remanso: Alastair Paterson (2); George Hanbury (3); David Stirling (10); Guillermo Terrera (7).

Emlor: Spencer McCarthy (2); Joachim Pittaluga (7); Luke Tomlinson (7); Nacho Gonzalez (6).

Enigma Polo Team: Charlie Hanbury (4); Guillermo Caset (10); Guillermo Willington (7); Jerome Wirth (1).

League Two

EFG Bank Aravali: Karan Thapar (0); Mark Tomlinson (6); Javier Novillo Astrada (8); Jaime Garcia Huidobro (8).

Twelve Oaks: Christian Laprida (8); Ignacio Laprida (7); Marcos Di Paola (7); Stefano Marsaglia (0).

Les Lions: Henry Fisher (4); Agustin Merlos (9); Sebastian Merlos (9); Joachim Gottschalk (0).

Zacara: Lyndon Lea (1); Facundo Pieres (10); Rodrigo Ribero de Andrade (8); Matt Perry (3).

League Three

Black Bears: Guy Schwarzenbach (2); Nachi du Plessis (8); John Paul Clarkin (8); Jack Richardson (4).

La Bamba De Areco: Jean Francois Decaux (0); Polito Pieres (8); Gonzalito Pieres (10); Ollie Cudmore (4).

Salkeld: Nick Clarke (0); Max Routledge (5); James Beim (7); Miguel Novillo Astrada (9).

UAE Polo Team: HH Sheikha Maitha (0); TBA (4); Lucas Monteverde (8); Pablo MacDonough (10).

League Four

Cortium: Adrian Kirby (1); Chris Mackenzie (5); Francisco Elizalde (7); Eduardo Novillo Astrada (9).

HB Polo: Ludovic Pailloncy (1); Ignaccio Toccalino (8); Pite Merlos (9); Sebastian Pailloncy (3).

Sumaya: Ahmad Aboughazale (1); Facundo Sola (8); Hilario Ulloa (9); Tomas Garbarini (4).

Talandracas: Edouard Carmignac (0); TBA (5); Lucas James (7); Juan Martin Nero (10).

Caption: La Bamba de Areco's Gonzalito Pieres with Laurent Feniou of Cartier at the President's Draw (Images of Polo)

Back to News